10 men, 2 women running for president

Navajo Times

Text size: A A A

Here are the candidates for Navajo Nation president, in alphabetical order:


  • Anthony Begay, chapter official from Mariano Lake, N.M.
  • Donald Benally, Shiprock Chapter vice president, former council delegate from Shiprock.
  • Sharon Clahchischilliage, head of the tribe's Washington office for the past nine years.
  • Rex Lee Jim, council delegate from Rock Point, Ariz.
  • Lynda Lovejoy, New Mexico state senator and former member of the state's Public Regulation Commission; lost to Joe Shirley Jr. in 2006.
  • Arbin Mitchell, director of the Navajo Nation's Division of Community Development.
  • Daniel Peaches, former council delegate from Kayenta, former manager of Kayenta Township, former staff assistant to Chairman Peter MacDonald Sr.
  • Ben Shelly, Navajo Nation vice president.
  • Joe Shirley Jr., Navajo Nation president.
  • Jerry Todacheenie, BHP Billiton employee and member of the Shiprock fair board.
  • D. Harrison Tsosie, Navajo Nation deputy attorney general.
  • Dale Tsosie - citizen.

Back to top ^

Text size: A A A  email this pageE-mail this story