Back to homepage

When Navajo Nation President Russell Begaye vetoed the resolution for a referendum to increase the salary for president and vice president, he never sent the required letter explaining why.

Former candidate for president Vincent Harris Yazzie has filed an appeal with the Navajo Nation Supreme Court against the Office of Hearings and Appeals’ decision to dismiss his grievance against Vice President and candidate Jonathan Nez.

For the past 60 years, almost all the candidates who have become chairman or president of the Navajo Nation did it by getting the support of New Mexico voters.

Attorney General Ethel Branch’s legal opinion declares that President Russell Begaye waiting an extra day to sign the $767 million operating budget for the Nation is legal, but Chief Legislative Counsel Levon Henry says it is not.

Wives of the top two candidates for Navajo Nation president share their views on life, education, politics, family, and more.

Navajo Nation President Russell Begaye has exercised his line-item veto by striking 31 items from the 2019 Navajo Nation’s $767 million operating budget – but he signed the budget a day later than the 10 days allotted to him by law.

Buu Nygren, vice president pick for Joe Shirley Jr., has never felt like he wasn’t Navajo.

The 23rd Navajo Nation Council on Sept. 4 unanimously adopted the $767 million fiscal 2019 budget accompanied by 25 amendments.

For nearly 30 years the salary for the Navajo Nation president has been set at $55,000 and for the vice president at $45,000.

If candidate Jonathan Nez receives the numbers in the general election that he did in the primary, he will be handing the vice-president job to Myron Lizer.